Future Life As A Web Developer. . . I Think

I’m nearing the age of 19. Last year in December I graduated early from a high school in Florida, and nearly a year later I still have not even applied for college. I keep putting it off, thinking “Oh, I’ll do that next week.” or “I need a little more time to decide what courses I want to take,”. Well boys and girls, my time is nearly up. At the end of November I will have missed the dead line for application at the local community college and I still haven’t decided what I want to do.

I’ve always known that I will end up in some form of computer-related career, but I couldn’t put my finger on which exact science I wanted to focus my studies around. I’m a huge fan of computer hardware, I have built many computers and spent thousands of dollars tinkering and tweaking. On the other hand, I’ve always loved web development. I’m no good with Photoshop, but give me notepad, a couple of hours, and I’ll have you a basic XHTML/CSS standard web page. So, which end do I choose?

I’m thinking web development. It’s a great line of work to get into, with lots of jobs out there for people with the required skill. Of course, I’d need some updating and some fine tuning to my current short-list of skills, but that is what school is for right?

So, in thinking I might want to become a web developer someday in the next 5 years, I decided to start a little side-project. “This Is Web” will be my web dev blog. I have a long learning process to go through, and I think having a place to showcase my progress will give me a since that I’m making it towards my goal.

It’s still in the early stages of work, but I should have it up and running by the end of October. I think my first step will be getting some more intimate knowledge of CSS under my belt. I know the language, but I’m very rusty and haven’t really garnered the proper techniques to call my knowledge “mastery”.

One thought on “Future Life As A Web Developer. . . I Think

Leave a Reply

