Progress With Hardware Testing

I don’t have the budget to use “extreme” cooling solutions like LN2, nor the budget to build or buy a phase change cooling system. The best cooling my budget has allowed for is a high-end water cooling setup, but even this is still limited by ambient temperatures. So how do I overclock my hardware even farther, without running the risk of overheating components?

Well, it just so happens that I live in the beautiful mountains of North Carolina. I live at the base of Marion Mountain, and every morning I get to wake up, stand on my back porch and enjoy the cool mountain air. . . . That’s right, with a little help from low-tech mature nature, I can push my high tech computer system to it’s limits, without breaking the bank on temperatures.

The past few days have been fun as an overclocker. At night, temperatures have been dropping near freezing, as low as 34F. Using a $10 window fan (and a jacket, sweat pants, and hot cup of coffee after hot cup of coffee) I achieved some pretty amazing temperatures and thus some pretty amazing test results.

Super Pi

I managed to get a clock speed of 4093mhz (4.1ghz) and a Super Pi 1M time of just 12.656s. Compared to my old score of 14.9s at 3.6ghz, this is a huge improvement!

Overclocking my GPU, while leaving my CPU at 3.6ghz yielded some pretty promising results as well.

Test Setup
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 3.6ghz
Memory: OCZ SLI-Ready DDR2-800 @ 900Mhz 4-4-4-15-2T
Motherboard: Evga nForce 680i SLI
Video Card: XFX 8800GTS 320MB Stock: 560/800
Power Supply: Corsair HX620

 

3DMark06 Overall Score

Leave a Reply

