Watching TV, More Complicated Than It Looks

Like most people born before, during, or after the 80’s, I spend a lot of time each week plopped down in front of the television watching random television shows on cable. Though over the course of my life my choice in programming has changed a lot, something hasn’t changed at all; I don’t really like following a series.

Usually when I sit down during the week to watch TV, I turn on the Discovery Channel or the History Channel. Why? Well, I do have an outside interests in the general topics the channels deal in, but also because every program has a start, a middle, and a clear, satisfying ending. You never see a documentary on the history of cotton that stops during the era of the first cotton gins, the narrator saying “Tune in next week for the exciting tale of slavery and blue jeans!”. It just doesn’t work out that way.

I hate watching new episodes of TV programs because I want to see more immediately after watching one episode. This is why when Heroes debuted on NBC, I watched the first two or three episodes, then barred myself from the show until the first season had ended. I had decided I liked the series, but I didn’t want to be waiting on edge to see what happened next week, I wanted to watch every episode back to back and get the full understanding of what was happening, how characters evolved, and so forth. Call me weird, but I just can’t take the suspense.

2 thoughts on “Watching TV, More Complicated Than It Looks

  1. I have to admit, I watch the shows as it airs on the network each week and at the end of each week when that “to be continued…” pops up on the screen it makes me want to scream. They always manage to end each episode on a huge cliffhanger much the same way 24 does.

  2. 24 was one of the reasons I decided to stop watching series until they have ended. I mean, how many times do they need to leave it at “Jack could die, or could he?” before I go insane? haha

Leave a Reply

