Follow Up: Twitter RSS Feed on WordPress.com

Recently I discussed my dismay with the way in which the Twitter RSS feed displayed on WordPress.com. I had attempted using a few free services to fix the issues I was having, and had little luck.

After a user commented that post, I decided to write a follow up. I admit, I wrote the previous post in haste and did not fully explore one of the free services that I had written about. That service was Dapper.net, which provides a very nice GUI, point-and-click interface to build mashups from existing feeds and any page on the web. I had, at first, thought feeds that I built using Dapper did not update as frequent as I would have liked, although they did update faster than Feed43. After some tweaking and playing around, I soon realized that my Dapper feeds were indeed updating about once every 15-20 minutes. I was even able to include the time and location from which I made my Tweet.

Dapper still has it’s issues though; for instance, I’m unsure of how you would go about building a “Dapp” that would capture multiple Tweets instead of just displaying your most recent Tweet. I’m also not sure how to get my Dapp feed to link to my Twitter account, instead the links just link to the page the feed is displayed on (in this case, my blog).

In all Dapper fulfilled my needs, so if you’re unhappy with the appearance of your Twitter feed on WordPress.com, I suggest giving Dapper.net a try.

Side Note: I’ll most likely be writing a guide on using Dapper to display your Twitter feed properly in the near future, so stay tuned.

One thought on “Follow Up: Twitter RSS Feed on WordPress.com

Leave a Reply

